In this section you can search all our contents throughout the different stages in the history of art in Spain, to find styles such as Baroque, Gothic, Mudejar and many, many more.

Picasso. 'Guernica' Modernism and Avant-garde movements The turn of the century brought new winds of modernity. The aesthetic sensibility of the time was marked by a different, freer attitude towards art and life.


In this section you can search among all our contents by topic to find the different resources available in Spain, such as museums, routes, destinations, monuments and many, many more.


This section provides access to all the contents in a personalised way, according to your own particular interests and socio-demographic profile.

Episodios nacionales

  • Work of culture - Generic image



Original title

Episodios nacionales

A colossal set of tales where Pérez Galdós goes over the main chapters in modern Spanish history.

A set of forty-six novels written between 1872 and 1912 by Benito Pérez Galdós, the top representative of the Spanish realist novel in the 19th century. This set of tales was based on different chapters in Spanish history from 1805 to 1880 and include fictional characters as protagonists.
Given its scope and complexity, the author decided to split it into five thematic series which were set during: the invasion of French troops, the reign of Ferdinand VII, the first Carlist war, the reign of Isabella II and the last series starting in the 1868 Revolution. In principle, Galdós wanted to end at the third series but started writing again after the ‘Disaster of 98’. In turn, the fifth and last series remained unfinished due to the author’s death.


spain is culture